Board of Directors

HSAA is governed by a board of directors which establishes policy and directs the operation of the union. The President and Vice-President of HSAA are elected by the membership every three years. HSAA members in the South, Central and North districts each elect two Board Members. The Edmonton and Calgary districts each elect five Board Members. District Board Members serve three-year terms.

Executive Officers

Michael Parker


Mike Parker has been a first responder since 1992, volunteering in his local community of Coaldale, Alberta. He went on to work in the private ambulance industry in Andrew, Lamont, Morinville and Athabasca, before moving to Edmonton in 1996. He graduated as a paramedic in 1999.

He has been involved in the labour movement for many years, serving as a steward and as vice-president of his local with the Canadian Union of Public Employees (CUPE). He became a member of HSAA in 2009 and served on the board before being elected as Vice-President in 2015. The following year, he became President. Mike has always been a strong proponent of the role of unions in protecting the rights of citizens and of the public sector in providing vital services.

Mike has also served as a volunteer with Canadian Medical Assistance Teams (CMAT), providing emergency assistance after disasters in the Philippines, Pakistan and Nepal. He has been recognized by the Governor General of Canada with the Sovereign’s Medal for Volunteers for embodying the caring country we hope to build, and the Emergency Medical Services Exemplary Service Medal for his more than 20 years of setting a high level of conduct while providing pre-hospital emergency aide.

As HSAA’s President, Mike is committed to helping Local Units create the conditions to ensure greater member engagement, knowing that we are all stronger when we work together.

Leanne Alfaro


Leanne Alfaro took office as HSAA’s Vice-President at close of Convention on May 28, 2021. She is an Electroneurophysiology Technologist by profession, working at the Alberta Children’s Hospital for more than 30 years.

She became a member and Group Representative shortly after beginning her employment and remained on the Local Unit Executive until she was elected to HSAA’s Board. She served as Vice-Chair and Chair.

She also became a Steward at her Local Unit but is presently on leave from that post while she sits on the Board.

Leanne has participated as a member of the Finance, Women’s Committees and as Chair of the Constitution, Bylaws, Resolution and Policy Committee. She also is Chair of the HSAA/AHS bargaining committee in the current round of negotiations.

She has been very active in advocating for her profession and served as the Lead Representative during the formation of the regulatory college – ACMDTT.
She is a mom to three adult children and has volunteered her time with several different boards and committees of sport associations that her children were involved in and volunteered with The Elizabeth Fry Society of Calgary supporting women affected by domestic abuse and/or poverty who are in need of guidance while navigating their way through the legal system.

When she is not busy with work, the union, her family and volunteering, she loves to travel to explore the many other cultures in our world.

Calgary District Board Members

Megan Connolly

Lisa Constantini

Faika Satterthwaite

Sarah Dorma


Shawn Lorenz

Central District Board Members

Darlene Fetaz

D.J. McMillan

Edmonton District Board Members

Laurie Brassard

Michael Hennig

Kris Moskal

Jelili Mustapha

image not available

Dean Rombough

North District Board Members

Omer Hussein


Nancy Arlinghaus


South District Board Members

Janet Pederson

Trevor Puritch